Product Review: Mizon Water Volume Aqua Gel Cream


Oh Mizon. You were my first K-Beauty love, and yet you still surprise me with great products that aren’t too expensive.

With the shift to hotter weather coming up, I’m exploring lighter moisturizer options, since the May Coop moisturizer I used at night through the winter is really thick and will probably cause me to break out or look greasy during the hotter months. Combination skin is a beast, but hey, it means I get to try more products! Silver lining?

Per the usual, I got this (full-sized!) Aqua Gel Cream in my PinkSeoul box. This is the first box I got that’s geared toward combination skin as opposed to oily – it turns out that better skin care has actually made my skin less congested and oil-producing, which makes me quite happy. PinkSeoul knows it’s stuff; they sent me several well-balanced products that I’m looking forward to reviewing for you guys.

This ‘cream’ almost looks like a gel. It’s nearly translucent and kind of viscous; it’s definitely not runny or thin. I’ve used it several times as a lighter nighttime moisturizer, so it’s the last step of my pre-bed routine. It’s also great if I take a shower right after the gym and still have things to do, so that I’m not putting on a heavy sleep pack several hours before bed.

If your skin is very oily, I can see this working as a nightly sleep pack and doing a great job at it. It absorbs well and provides good moisture, but it’s not heavy at all, so it’s unlikely to contribute to a breakout. For me, since I do have that combination skin thing happening, and because I’m using a lot of pore-tightening products right now, I have to pay attention to how my skin feels on a given night and moisturize appropriately. Sometimes, this is perfect, and other times I need something heavier, especially if I’ve gotten a little sun or been out in that west Texas wind. Also, if I do a really rich sheet mask at night, this is a great moisturizer for me, because the sheet mask has already provided tons of moisture, and doubling up with a heavy sleep pack would probably be too much for my face.

So you’ve got options on how to apply this, although if your skin is solidly on the dry side, this might not be enough even in summer – but if you used it after essence and before sunscreen as a light-but-additional moisture layer, it could work well for you. Somebody with dry skin give that a try and get back to me.

One thing to note about the Aqua Gel Cream is that it does have a very perfumey scent. I’m not sensitive to fragrance, but when I put it on my first thought was, ‘Whoa, that’s some perfume.’ It doesn’t smell *bad*, mind – I actually like it – but if you’re particularly averse to stronger scents in your beauty products, it’s something to be aware of. The scent lingers for an hour or two before dissipating.

As always, Mizon delivers a great product with this moisturizer. I think I’ve found a key player in my summer skin routine.

Leave a Reply

